Farmer Joe’s & Friends

All about Farmer Joe’s Marketplace

Howl-o-weening

Howl-o-ween came to Farmer Joe’s on Saturday. Our group of costumed adults, dogs and children started at Paws and Claws and worked our way down to the store, where Diana Tam greeted us with sacks of goodies. Okay, yeah, I yelled “trick or treat” with the kids so I could get some candy. My favorite item in my bag was an iced pumpkin cookie. Delicious. A little Dachshund thought the cookie looked yummy too. The small dog jumped up and snagged one from a child. I laughed at the hungry dog until I saw how disappointed the kid was. Diana quickly replaced her cookie, and this time the kid held it out of the dog’s reach.

This year’s Howl-o-ween was better than ever. People and dogs wore some fabulous costumes. I was really torn which were my favorites. I liked the pugs that were ticks, and the Chihuahua/Chinese Crested mix that was a fairy. The little girl who was Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz was adorable. Her mother was the wicked witch. One of my favorite dogs showed up wearing a Cinderella costume. The dog’s human said, “My dog is so embarrassed wearing that costume.” Later in the evening at the Howl-o-ween bonfire at Paws and Claws, the dog strolled by us with a big grin on her face and no costume. The dog had removed the costume herself. Embarrassed, indeed. We took a flashlight and looked around but we could never find the pup’s outfit.

October 28, 2007 - Posted by | community, Dimond, neighborhood, Oakland, party

2 Comments »

  1. Looks like everyone had a smashing time. I enjoyed the post. Would have liked to see a picture of you and the big guy. did you take your dogs?

    Comment by worldphotos | October 31, 2007 | Reply

  2. We had a great time. We did take the dogs and thank goodness ours were not the ones in the dog fight.

    Comment by Corn Dog | November 2, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

